Sie sind nicht angemeldet.

Dienstag, 4. Januar 2011, 19:10

MAYDAY! MAYDAY! MAYDAY! - F-104 Hydraulic System Failure

Night Low-Level Instrument Tactical Check Flight over Dusseldorf, Germany by Ike Sweesy*

Zitat

I was an F-104 pilot in Europe with the NATO Training Division (DOON Team) from 1982 – 1985 and I flew out of many NATO F-104 bases giving Tactical Check Flights to allied pilots including Dutch pilots at Volkel AB, The Netherlands.
Before that assignment I had been instructing in F-104s at Luke AFB from ’79-’82 and then went to Europe through the summer of 1985. I loved that 3-year European tour, and considered it my best assignment in the Air Force. I got to fly with fellow F-104 pilots in Germany, Holland, Belgium, Italy, and even Turkey.
I had an interesting experience March 8th, 1983 on a night TF-104 flight out of Volkel with me flying the front seat giving Captain Jos Engels, a 312th Squadron Dutch fighter pilot, a back seat, Radar Night Low Level Check Ride via the Charlie route in Northern Germany to Nordhorn range.
That night the weather was good enough for launch and recovery at Volkel, but was forecasted to be IMC for the low level route which snaked east then north across the heavily populated northwestern Germany low lands. Jos and I didn't much care about the clouds since it was a night instrument checkflight anyway, and we were carrying plenty of fuel in the 4 external tanks for the long low level navigation route ending with a simulated Nuclear Weapon Delivery on a practice target such as would be assigned in Communist territory during a real nuclear war.
I did the takeoff from the front seat, and after coming out of afterburner and starting the climb I checked the comforting blink of small green fuel lights that told us that our fuel transfer pumps were steadily filling our internal tanks from those 4 bags of gas hung on our tiny wings.